Databases are subject based search engines that enable you to search across a large number of journals simultaneously. In addition to research articles from academic journals, databases also index conference proceedings, book chapters, review articles and more.
This page includes all the databases subscribed to by the AFBI Library. Not sure where to start looking for articles? Try Web of Science. Otherwise, select a database in the broad category that describes your topic.
To use the databases listed below, please use your AFBI Library username and password.
CAB Abstracts: 1973 -
available via the Web of Science platform - agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources.
FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts: 1969 -
available via the Web of Science platform - food science, food technology and human nutrition.
free bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns - indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Incites is an online research benchmarking tool from Clarivate which enables use of Web of Science data to provide information on institutional research performance, including institutional productivity, collaborative activity, key areas of research, influential researchers, and discovering areas of opportunity. Under ‘Institutional Sign In’, choose ‘UK Federation’ > ‘Go to Institution’. Type 'Agri-food and Biosciences Institute', then sign in with your AFBI Library username and password. Please note that you will need to register for a Web of Science account before using InCites.
KCI - Korean Journal Database
A database providing a snapshot of the most influential regional content from researchers in South Korea.
Medline: 1950 -
available via the Web of Science platform - medical research, clinical practice, policy issues
Launched in 2015, PubAg is a portal to documents authored by the United Stated Department of Agriculture and other highly relevant agriculture research. It also links to the US National Agricultural Library's Online Thesaurus and Glossary (NALT).
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
SciELO content includes 650 journal titles from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. It is a program of the Sao Paulo Research Foundation for the cooperative publishing of open access journals in the internet.
offers full-text access to over 1000 journals from Elsevier and a few other related publishers covering science, medicine and engineering as well as business, management and social sciences
Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection enables access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index.